Prizes and recognitions

Many of LabEx NIE members (researchers and students)  rank among the best in their field internationally. They have been awarded honorary distinctions, research grants or prizes for their academic achievements.

Congratulations to all of them!

Kavli Prize

Congratulations to Professor Thomas Ebbesen, who won the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience 2014 which is the most prestigious award in the field of nanosciences, for “transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics that have broken long-held beliefs about the limitations of the resolution limits of optical microscopy and imaging”.

Click here for more details

Prix Ricard

Congratulations to Dr Jean-Yves Bigot who won the prestigious « Prix Ricard » in 2016. 

The French Society of Physics congratulates Jean-Yves Bigot for his particularly innovative experimental achievements in Condensed matter physics.

Click here for more information.

CNRS medals

Guillaume Schull (picture on the left, CNRS researcher CR1, IPCMS) was awarded the Bronze medal of CNRS on November 19th 2013. More

Stéphane Berciaud (picture on the right, Professor at Université of Strasbourg) was awarded the Bronze medal of CNRS on November 21th 2016. More


« Institut Universitaire de France » nominations

Florian Banhart 2013 | Ovidiu Ersen 2013 | Benoît Pichon 2016 | Stéphane Berciaud 2016

ERC grants

2012: Guido Pupillo (picture on the right) has been awarded an ERC grant for his project « Cold gases with long-range interactions: Non-equilibrium dynamics and complex simulations »

2017: Guillaume Schull received a Tremplin-ERC (TERC) grant for his project APOGEE (Atomic-scale physics of single-photon sources). More


2017: Guillaume Schull was awarded the Gaede Prize for his work on Controlled single-molecule contacts, light emission from atomic contacts and light emission from molecular junction. The GAEDE Prize, donated by Manfred Dunkel and sponsored by Leybold in Cologne, is awarded annually since 1986 to young scientists (less than 40 years old). More

PhD grants and prizes

2013: Sylvia Zanettini (picture on the left), won the « L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science » prize (supervisor: Pr. Bernard Doudin)

2015: Gaël Reecht, won the « Prix de la Société des amis des universités de l’académie de Strasbourg » (supervisor: Dr Guillaume Schull)

Manuel Gruber, won the « Unistra Foundation » prize (supervisor: Dr Eric Beaurepaire)

Ziyad Chaker received the first prize for «My thesis in 180 seconds» contest.

2016: Florian Godel, « Prix de la Société des amis des universités de l’académie de Strasbourg » (supervisor: David Halley)

Manuel Gruber (picture on the left): successfully competed for the PhD thesis prize of the magnetism division during the meeting of the condensed matter division of the German Physical Society  (supervisors: Dr Eric Beaurepaire and Pr. Wulfhekel). More

2017: Geoffrey Cotin received the second prize (Jury) and first prize (Public) for the « My thesis in 180 seconds » contest.

Geoffrey Cotin also received the « Prix de la Société des amis des universités de l’académie de Strasbourg » (supervisor: Sylvie BEGIN-COLIN)